top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureDenia Guadalupe Bradshaw

Mind Matters to Mindfulness Without Borders

Started a facilitator training on Tuesday April 16th, 2019. It is a facilitator training with Mindfulness Without Borders and it is all online. It is based around Social-Emotional Learning (SEL) and mindfulness practices.


Let’s begin with how I got here.


I finally made it to a Mind Matters event at my university on Thursday March 7th, 2019.

Prajna Paramita Choudhury presented “Coming Home to Ourselves: How to Access Mindfulness in Our Busy Lives.” It was such a great reminder on how to take care of ourselves, but also face “our demons” and how this is the gateway to healthy living and well-being. It was such a treat and humbling to hear her story and her practices. She brought up Tara Brach a few times too and I’ve been a Tara Brach groupie for a few years now! Very cool to hear that they are connected.


After the Mind Matters event, I spoke with Prajna Paramita about my dissertation topic interests. I told her that I know showing up for our students if we are not taking care of ourselves can end up being a disservice. I asked her if she knew about any trainings or frameworks around this for professional learning. Right away, she knew who to refer me to: Meena Srinivasan. I looked up Meena and found her website and read about her Social and Emotional (SEL) Solutions.


Upon emailing Meena, she replied within hours. She and I will chat toward end of May, in the meantime she suggested to join the Mindfulness in Education Network (MiEN) on Yahoo groups. Upon joining the group, I submitted my “elevator speech” and my hope to help students through professional learning.


I want to say maybe a few weeks later, I receive an email from MiEN about this Mindfulness Without Borders Facilitator Certification Training. I email to inquire, while also mentioning my research interests..


Long story short: I am enrolled and will be certified facilitator later this summer! Super exciting.


Day one, twas great thus far. Practicing TUZA twice a day all week..

Stay tuned!

13 views0 comments
bottom of page